What Is a Landlord?
Are you thinking about becoming a landlord? Or maybe you're worried you accidentally became one. This page explains who qualifies as a landlord in Oregon and why it matters.
What makes someone a landlord?
Someone is considered a landlord in Oregon if they allow another person to live in a dwelling they own or lease in exchange for payment.
- A dwelling means a separate house, an extra bedroom, an Accessory Dwelling Unit (ADU), your basement, or any other place where someone resides.
- Payment doesn't have to be money. Payment could mean that someone agrees to help pay utility bills or do work in exchange for a place to stay.
No written agreement is required to become a landlord. Someone can become a landlord by making a verbal agreement to let someone live in their dwelling in exchange for payment.
Can someone accidentally become a landlord?
Yes. This happens often. Here are some common ways someone might unintentionally become a landlord:
- Roommates: A renter gets a new roommate without their landlord's permission. The new roommate pays rent to the original renter. The original renter accidentally becomes the roommate's landlord.
- Temporary guests: Someone lets a friend or relative stay in their house or rental for a few months. The guest agrees to help pay utility bills and do yard work in exchange for living there. This creates a landlord-tenant relationship.
- Long-term motel or hotel guests: Someone manages a hotel, and one of their guests stays in a room for more than 30 days. The hotel manager accidentally became a landlord.
- Long-term vacation rental guests: A homeowner rents their extra home as a vacation property. They rent to someone who stays for more than 45 days. The homeowner is a landlord under Oregon laws.
Why does it matter if I’m a landlord?
If someone qualifies as a landlord under Oregon laws, they must follow Oregon's Residential Landlord and Tenant Laws.
Oregon's landlord-tenant laws apply even if:
- The rental agreement says something different. Oregon laws overrule conflicting terms in a contract or lease agreement.
- There is no written agreement. Without an agreement, Oregon laws create a default set of rules that both a landlord and a tenant must follow.
Warning: If a landlord doesn't follow these laws, there can be serious consequences. Tenants can sue for money damages when a landlord fails to comply with the law.
Key requirements for Oregon landlords
Oregon laws create many rules for landlords to follow, including:
- Repair laws: Landlords must maintain their rental properties. If things break, they must make repairs promptly and pay for the repairs. Read more about repair laws.
- Restrictions on rent increases: Landlords can’t raise rent by more than a certain amount each year. The amount fluctuates slightly each year because it’s tied to the Consumer Price Index. For 2027, the limit is 10%. Read more about rent increases.
- Notice requirements: Before a landlord can increase rent, ask a tenant to move out, or make other changes to the rental agreement, the landlord must give the tenant advance written notice of the change.
- Strict eviction process: Landlords must give tenants a legal eviction notice and adequate time to move out. Then, if the tenant doesn't move out, the landlord must go to eviction court to force the tenant to move out—they can't force a tenant out on their own. Learn more about evictions.
- Protection from discrimination: Landlords can't treat their tenants differently or unfairly because of factors such as race, religion, disability, or whether they have children. Learn more about anti-discrimination laws.
Further reading
- Oregon Law Help: Visit the rental housing section to learn more about Oregon’s rental housing laws.
- Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS): You’ll find Oregon’s landlord-tenant laws in ORS Chapter 90. ORS 90.100, 90.110, and 90.113 explain what situations make someone a landlord in Oregon. You'll find the other laws mentioned in this article at ORS 659A.421 and ORS 659A.425 (anti-discrimination laws) and ORS 105 (evictions).
Where to get help
If you're a renter in Oregon, there are free and low-cost services to help tenants understand and protect their legal rights. You can search our legal directory to see legal help options in your area.
If you're an Oregon landlord, here's where to get help:
- Talk to an Oregon lawyer who specializes in landlord-tenant law for help understanding Oregon’s laws and how they apply to your situation. If you need help finding a lawyer, you can contact Oregon’s Legal Referral Service.
- Join a rental housing association: Many landlords are also part of professional rental housing associations like Rental Housing Alliance, MultiFamily Northwest, or Oregon Rental Housing Association. These associations provide training, forms, and other resources for landlords.